pannyzero

Student visa to permanent resident ?

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Thailand
Timeline

Hello,

My name is Panika and I am new to Visa Journey. I am from Thailand and have been in the US studying English for 8 months. My boyfriend (U.S. Citizen) asked me to marry him and I am going to be applying for Adjustment of Status (AOS).

My US Student Visa is valid for 5 years as long as I am studying, but I graduated from my English program on 12/21/08. If I am not studying, the Student Visa requires I leave the US within 60 days. That would be on 2/19/08. What does this deadline mean exactly? Do we have to marry by then, or file the paperwork, or how firm is this date? :help:

Thanks,

Panika

Timeline

12/20/07 : Graduated

01/18/08 : Civil Marriage

02/04/08 : filling out the forms

02/05/08 : AOS form arrived at USCIS

02/13/08 : Check cashed

02/15/08 : Received NOA

02/16/08 : Biometric Appointment notice

03/01/28 : Biometric Appointment

03/20/08 : Interview Appointment notice

04/03/08 : AP & EAD Card production ordered

04/10/08 : EAD Mailed

05/02/08 : Interview Appointment ( waiting for card arrival)

.png

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline
Hello,

My name is Panika and I am new to Visa Journey. I am from Thailand and have been in the US studying English for 8 months. My boyfriend (U.S. Citizen) asked me to marry him and I am going to be applying for Adjustment of Status (AOS).

My US Student Visa is valid for 5 years as long as I am studying, but I graduated from my English program on 12/21/08. If I am not studying, the Student Visa requires I leave the US within 60 days. That would be on 2/19/08. What does this deadline mean exactly? Do we have to marry by then, or file the paperwork, or how firm is this date? :help:

Thanks,

Panika