anunnaki

Please help regarding Affidavit of Support!

10 posts in this topic

Hello, everyone! First and foremost, my apologies if this question has previously been answered (to death?). If so, please direct me toward the appropriate thread.

I am a U.S. citizen currently residing in the Republic of Korea. I am in the process of petitioning for my Korean wife’s visa, and my next step is to prepare the necessary documents for her interview (which has not yet been scheduled). We plan to live in WA with my parents temporarily upon returning to the U.S.

I have encountered a snag regarding the Affidavit of Support (I-864) to which I cannot seem to find any satisfactory information anywhere leading toward a solution. I need to resolve two issues:

1) I have been a resident alien in Korea since 2005 and have been filing for Foreign Earned Income Exclusion (2555-EZ) every year along with the 1040 form that lists my Korean income. Does my Korean income, which is above the poverty line, make me eligible according to the I-864 guidelines, even though technically my U.S. income is zero?

2) In case my Korean income does not count toward eligibility, I am aware of the fact that I would need a joint sponsor. Unfortunately, the problem with that is that my joint sponsor candidates (my parents) are both senior citizens and their combined income is slightly below the poverty line and therefore does not meet the requirements.

As an alternative, I have a brother who could possibly act as the joint sponsor instead of my parents; however, he resides in CO and not WA. Can he still be the joint sponsor, even though my wife and I will be living in a different state?

Thanks! I'm looking forward to hearing back from you.

Edited by anunnaki

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

You will need a joint sponsor. Your brother is fine. A joint sponsor can be any US citizen or green card holder.