PeterPan

O-1a Visa: Individuals with Extraordinary Ability or Achievement

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Spain
Timeline

Dear All,

Few weeks ago the USCIS approved my application for the O-1a visa (I know this doesn't mean that it has been granted), I have a job offer from the company that is sponsoring my visa and paying the lawyers. I had the interview in the embassy two days ago and I really don't now what what will be the outcome of it, as the immigration officer was quite "impolite"; he said that this visa is just reserved for rock stars and actors, (I'm an engineer!), I told him that the lawyers believed that we have a strong case and I explained to him what I would be doing and why I can be considered for that visa, he went out to talk to someone and came back I would say, "slightly" less "impolite". He asked me for proof (my case is supported by several letters of recommendation, postgraduate-studies, peer-reviews of projects, top 5% of salaries in my level of expertise etc.), I handed over my CV and waited to show more proof, then he said that we will be receiving our passports back in a week. He didn't handed over any form to me, he just said that.

I talked to the lawyers and they said it would be fine, that I will be receiving the passports with the visas stamped, but I would like to now the opinion of the seasoned people in this forum, specifically I want to now what are the possible outcomes, and if any, way forward and a timeline to each of those.

Thanks in advance for your support.

PP.

Timeline

Hi Again!

I forgot to mention that since the first time I checked (one day after the interview), my case appears as "Administrative Processing" in the https://ceac.state.gov page, with the latest update the date of the interview. Is it normal that right after the interview the case is under AP? Or does that necessarily mean that my visa will be hold for any further check?

Rgds!

PP

Filed: Timeline