Mark and Rassel

Marriage Fraud, Divorce and a life on hold . . .

32 posts in this topic

Hi!

This is my first time posting, I've lurked and looked for some time . . . My questions is about a woman that I met on the net who lives in the Philippines. She seems like a fine, upstanding and honest woman who made a mistake about 10 years ago. I'll call her 'Jane' for now . ... .She's the youngest in a family of 9 sibiings, with 6 of them being step sisters and brothers. Unable to secure a position using her math degree, Jane become involved in a marriage to a Japanese fellow. They were married in the Philppines. He initiated the divorce after 2 years in Japan, 3 years after that she was laid off when economy started to sour. She was doing some kind of QA in a LCD factory . . .. She now believes that she is not divorced, and is unable to remarry without an anullment. She was not arrested, deported or caught up in a sting. She has been living in limbo for 5 or 6 years, unable to move forward because of her current marital status. An american friend of mine who lives in the philippines said his fillipino wife is 100% sure she must get her marriage annulled because Japan and the Philippino Goverment exchange update each other on marriage statuses or something to that effect. Some of her friends who did this had to get annullment. From reading this forum (thanks!) and others, it appears that are at least two ways out of this mess - with the first being the most likely:

1) Jane was married in the Philippines, and divorced in Japan. Her husband initiated the divorce, the english translation of the divorce says he initiated it. There is a section in the Family code that says that if this is the case, she is free to remarry. I've read here that there is a necessary court document that must be file that essentially demands the NSO to issue a CENOMAR - or something to that effect.