michela

will USC using public benefits hurt our case?

23 posts in this topic

OK our K-1 app is in Nebraska and I am wondering about the public charge thing. I am a college student and my dad is going to co-sponsor the application to get my fiance here, thus making our combined income way above the poverty level that the govt requires. However, my infant son is currently receiving medicaid and I qualify to get child care benefits from the state for when I go back to school in September.

My worry is that if I use these programs, it might jeopardize our case. I could get by without them, but doing that, will end up borrowing a lot of money (child care is very expensive where I am). Can I use the benefits? Will that affect my case? Does anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks!

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Romania
Timeline

I use medicaid and wic for my son, and it wont affect our cases. dont worry

vj2.jpgvj.jpg

"VJ Timelines are only an estimate, they are not actual approval dates! They only reflect VJ members. VJ Timelines do not include the thousands of applicants who do not use VJ"

IF YOU ARE NEW TO THE SITE, PLEASE READ THE GUIDES BEFORE ASKING ALOT OF QUESTIONS. THE GUIDES ARE VERY HELPFUL AND WILL SAVE YOU ALOT OF TIME!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Scotland
Timeline

Hi,

Don't worry. It's no problem. It's not you that they are concerned with. You, as the USC are able to use such benefits.

If the immigrant were to use such benefits-that is entirely a different story. You and the co-sponsor (your dad) would be held accountable to repay them the said benefits until 40 quarters (10 years) passes, he naturalizes, leaves the US, or (god forbid) passes away.

Your child is fine, and it won't affect your case.

No worries.

-Rose

"I have spread my dreams under your feet

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams"

-Yeats