Lilith79

Planning to file for K-1

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Italy
Timeline

Hi all and thank you in advance for all the help and the support I know I'll get from this awesome comunity!

I got back from the U.S. about 3 weeks ago. I'm from Italy and I lived in the U.S. for 8 months and 10 days under an A-2 visa (diplomatic, non paid intern).

I was living with my boyfriend (we have been together for almost 9 months now) that I met the second day I was in the U.S.

We are planning to file for a K-1 visa, but we are scared of a couple of issues we could have.

First of all he has been convicted and incarcerated for 4 months years ago (I think 6). It was a minor crime, neither of those listed on the I-129F, but we are wondering if he needs to declare it somewhere.

Plus, I kinda overstayed my visa. I'm saying "kinda" 'cause I had the D/S (Duration of Status) on my I-94 and I was "covered" from my bosses (meaning that I have a letter from them saying I was an intern till the end of August, when I was just going in every now and then) that are eager to declare that I was still an intern if someone asked. Supposedly my program was ending at the end of May and I had the right to stay for another month (grace period). I "overstayed" 2 months and 20 days but I don't see how they can find this out.

Any advices? I was wondering if I should try to be honest and declare it or if, since my very peculiar situation (they say diplomatic status is privileged...We called the DOS while I was overthere and they said I could stay till I was an intern, but didn't say what I had to do to prove I was in status.) I should maybe pretend everything is regular.

Thank you for reading all my story :)

I'll appreciate any help.

Edited by Lilith79

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Colombia
Timeline