25 posts in this topic

Hey guys, 

I am filling i944 for my i458 form. In part 4 item 3 of form i944, it is asked to list my educational history which is fine. But in the instructions, it says I need to provide degree equivalency for all my foreign degrees.  I have a PhD and a Master degree from a university in the US. But I took my B.Sc. and high school degrees at my home country.  Do I still need to get degree equivalency for my high school and undergrad? Does it make sense?  

Dexter,

I have the same (Master's/PhD in the U.S., and an undergraduate and high school education in my home country). 

I did get the equivalency done for the high school and undergraduate education for the I-944.  I didn't feel that their language gave any wiggle-room for our particular circumstances.  They may, in the future, clarify the requirements, but better safe than sorry.  Some of the equivalency companies will allow you to send in transcripts electronically, and do provide rush services if you're in a rush.

One thing I'd clarify with any potential verification company would be if they do your high school and undergraduate verification as a package, or if you'll have to pay twice instead.  It seems that some of them seem to require high school information to do the verification for the undergraduate degree (and then provide equivalences for both educational levels on the same document).  

As I said, best to ask the particular company!

J

Edited by irishoxford

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Spain
Timeline

I am having a very similar doubt. 

Currently, I am doing my masters in the US (visa F-1). I got married recently to a US citizen and I am going through the process of AOS. So my question is the same: should I provide a credential evaluation by an authorized company that reviews my foreign degree? I assume that I'd just need to do it with my college degree, not my high school degree.