sidd47

Applying for a J1 Waiver - via the No objection category (NORI) - No Obligation to Return to India.

20 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm currently on (unpaid) J1- Visa status, working as a research scholar in Michigan. This J-1 visa is sponsored via Wayne State University, Department of Pediatrics. I have a medical degree (M.D.) from India but I am not practicing as a physician or a resident in the U.S. I do not attend to patients or any doctor-patient consultation. I have no intentions of pursuing medical residency and do the J1 waiver (of working in a rural area in the U.S.) after the residency completion. I'm here only for research purposes.

Can I apply for a J1 waiver through the 'No Objection' category? (I have the 2 years home stay requirement rule attached to the J-1 visa). I haven't signed any paid contract with WSU which binds me to work for them. I work there as an unpaid volunteer/research scholar. I have read many articles that Indian National candidates with a medical background (MBBS) don't usually have favorable response when it comes the No objection waiver.

My position/designation at Wayne State University and Detroit Medical Center is that of a "Research Scholar".

Please, let me know whether I have a substantial case for the U.S. state department and the Ministry of Health of India to remove the 2 year home country stipulation.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Why do you need it?

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

I want to switch from J1 to H1B.