Elethiomel

Knightsbridge and London Embassy Experience

12 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

I had my medical about a week ago at Knightsbridge, it was a bit intimidating (especially for someone with an anxiety disorder being questioned about how anxious I was!) but after asking all the questions I'd ticked to and looking at my patient summary/checking my vaccinations and chest xray I was informed it was fine and my medical would go on to the embassy 4 business days later, I was pleasantly surprised it arrived in a shorter amount of time than that. 

The K1 interview today went great, would have been nice if it hadn't rained though. Documents were taken at the first window instantly (I had barely walked through the doors and the bleep went off for me to take my papers up) they didn't end up taking the copies of most documents just the originals, I was a cadet instructor for a couple of years so they were a bit iffy I had no paperwork for that but they didn't end up needing it.

Twenty minutes minutes later I got my main interview. Just a few brief questions then they said I was approved, I was dizzy, excited and almost fainted. I'm a pretty anxious person but it really wasn't as bad as I had worked it up to being in my head (I'd worried myself an absurd amount about x possible problems). The 1pm Wednesday slot was a good idea, seemed not to have many people there (3 people ahead of me in line and no one else waiting)

It's still not really sunk in yet! I'd talked myself into worrying about every little detail but it turns out there was no need. "I'm going to approve your visa, it will arrive in the next 14 days" is probably the second best thing I've heard in my life; the first being when my lovely fiancee said yes to marrying me!

Edited by Elethiomel

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Scotland
Timeline

Congratulations!!! :) It's such an anti-climax isn't it haha! 

:wub: Immigration & Expat Blog Links :wub: