sunset

Applied for K3 - Application Pending, Divorce Impending

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-3 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi There,

I'm new to this forum but i think this is the place to post this.

i guess i'll start with my questions:

- For a marriage registered in India, while my spouse is still there, what would be the procedure for divorce? does a US court need to get involved?

- She is an engineer by profession but not working right now. does this short marriage entitle her to alimony from me?

- what happens to the K3 process?

- what changes if we decide to continue K3 as normal, i file I-134, she gets the K3 and we try to work things out here in the US. If it doesn't work out within a year of her coming here, does anything change from divorce procedures and alimony responsibilities?

:help:

here is some background if it helps:

my wife and I were married in jan '07 in India. I've know her for about a year in total with most of our communication being long distance until we got married. It was an semi-arranged marriage where we were intorduced by family and left to decide.

after marriage, she turned out to be very different than what she portrayed herself to be prior... she lives with my family in india but has total disregard and disrespect for my parents. turns out I was a bad judge of character and she is a major game player, lying for small things and does not have the family values she convinced me she had. on multiple instance i've found her telling me things entirely different from versions i hear from family, which seems like she is trying to turn me against them. for what purpose? i have no worldly clue...