vorpalswrd

Polyamory and K-1 visas

191 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: New Zealand
Timeline

Hi, my name is Angelique and I have been in a polyamorous relationship for 2 years and counting. For those who don't know what that means...welll, you won't be able to help me with my question anyway, but it means I love more than one person. My first love has been with me for 8 years and we met in high school. My legal issue comes with my second love as he was born and raised in New Zealand where he currently still resides. I am planning to obtain a K-1 visa for him so he can immigrate to this country and we can marry so that he can live here legally with me and my boyfriend. As the U.S. petitioner I need to make 125% above the poverty line to sponsor him. I am a full time grad student so I need a joint sponsor. Either of my parents could qualify for this but I think my boyfriend would be the best choice as I am a dependent on his taxes and live soley with him. I suppose my question boils down to if anyone can tell me about similar stories they've heard. point me in a helpful direction or any other help anyone has. Thank you much.

P.S. if you don't agree with my lifestyle please don't post it here as it's just not helpful

(sorry bad experiences)