MayAnh

Deciding between K1 and CR1

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Vietnam
Timeline

My boyfriend and I want to get married but because we live in two different countries (I am the US citizen) we want to choose the option that lets us be together the fastest with the least amount of potential difficulties. He is living/working in Vietnam and has the option to go with an H-1 (his company will sponsor him) or I can apply for the K-1 or CR-1 to sponsor him. I am a graduate student so timing isn't as flexible as we'd like, and I am graduating in June 2016 (with no income until until I begin working in late August 2016). Does anyone have any advice or experience with applying for a K-1 or a CR-1 with Vietnam and how long/how complicated it was?

Some background: My boyfriend, although lives/works in Vietnam went to high school in the US and got his BA in the US. Traveling on a B1/2 visa has never been a problem.

Options:

H1-B (He applies now and finds out in late April before I graduate, but there is a 2/3 chance he won't get this because of the visa lottery)

K-1 (We apply now and have to wait for him to obtain the visa in September/October)

CR-1 (We get married in Vietnam in July and could live together for a year there potentially--however this could be difficult with my work because of the timing) However I have heard that establishing domicile with this option is a gray area, so does anyone have any experience with this?

-Which option is fastest and most importantly the least likely to give us trouble?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

K1 is fastest, if you can get someone to be co-sponsor. He could still try for the H1B even while the K1 is in process.