GhanaLove

Too Young For Marriage?

18 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Ghana
Timeline

Hi VJers. I'm a newbie around here but I love this resource. It feels great to have virtual support since I have none from my family. I wanted to get a variety of opinions on my situation.

I'm 22 and my fiancee is 25. I met him in Sept. 2005 when I studied abroad in Ghana. We fell in love and started a pretty serious relationship quickly. I left Ghana in Dec. 2005 and have been miserable ever since I've been "home". (I now consider Ghana to be my home since I felt so comfortable there). Anyway, I've been in regular contact with my fiancee and my parents now know about me trying to help him over here but they won't help me at all. I can be cool with that and although their opinion is important, it really is my life and I realize that now.

However, my parents do think I am too young to get married. What do you all think about that? How much does age play a factor in marriage?

02/05/2007 - Mailed I-129F to Vermont Service Center

02/07/2007 - I-129F arrived at Vermont Service Center

02/12/2007- NOA1 Received

02/28/2007 - Touched

03/07/2007 - Touched

03/09/2007 - NOA2 Approval Email Received!

03/11/2007 - Touched

03/12/2007 - NOA2 Received through postal mail

03/16/2007 - Received letter from NVC dated 03/14/2007

04/03/2007 - Called NVC and petition is going through Administrative Review at NVC

04/20/2007 - Called NVC and petition is finally sent to Accra, Ghana to the Embassy.

05/31/2007 - Received letter on behalf of my fiance telling him to pick up Package 3

06/07/2007 - Fiance picked up Package 3 from Embassy in Accra, Ghana

.png

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Nigeria
Timeline