choppy_waters

Affidavit of Support Advice/Experiences

10 posts in this topic

Hey there! So I have two questions with regards to both the I-134 and I-864 Affidavits of Support that I will be filing as the Sponsor, and was hoping that maybe there will be some suggestions/advice.

1. Last year I was a student and between my earning and assets, I fall between 100% and 125% of the poverty level. I know that the I-134 requires the Sponsor make just 100% of the poverty level, so technically I am ok to file the I-134 without a joint sponsor, but because I didn’t make the 125% of the poverty level last year (although there is a chance I will this year), I am concerned that the consular official might choose to focus on this. I am wondering if anyone has any experience with this sort of situation, and if they would recommend a joint sponsor?
  2. I am headed to grad school this fall and will again have an abbreviated work year, and I am unsure if I will make the 125% of the poverty level needed for the I-864 for my fiancée’s adjustment of status. At the moment I live at home with my parents, but I will be moving out of state for school. I am planning on keeping my home state residency and will consider my parent’s address to by my permanent address. Although I will be physically living outside of the home, are my potential joint sponsors (parents) still be able to fill out the simpler I-864A for household joint sponsors, or is the full I-864 required?

Thanks for the help!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hey there! So I have two questions with regards to both the I-134 and I-864 Affidavits of Support that I will be filing as the Sponsor, and was hoping that maybe there will be some suggestions/advice.