londonbreakdown

Meeting the Minimum Poverty Guidelines

10 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

I'm sure there's something already posted about this somewhere, but I'm new to this and just trying to get everything figured it.

I'm a 22 year old American citizen, trying to bring my 23 year old U.K. citizen fiance to the U.S. Neither of us have children, and my place of work has already said as soon as he is hire-able here in the US, the would gladly do so.

I made just barely under the 125% poverty guideline that is supposed to be met. Literally less than $1,000 short of the amount. We just started the process, and by the time we need to show how much I earn, I will have some money in my savings account that will definitely make up that short coming.

I would have no problem getting a joint sponsor, I would just prefer not to. I was just wondering if being that amount short would really be an issue? And does money in a savings account go towards meeting that guideline?

Thank you in advance for your input!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Has he considered self sponsoring?

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Timeline

Not income, savings.

I thought UK minimum wage is more than that.

Edited by Boiler

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

No he doesn't have anything in savings at the moment, and their minimum wage is more, but I make more than minimum wage in the US and work full time, we he only works part time.