chicinchic

Traveling overseas in March--file I-130/I-485 now or after?

11 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Timeline

Hi!

I've got a quick question about when to file.

I'm a J-1 Canadian student and my status will expire in June. My parter and I were married in Dec. in the USA and we want to file for my adjustment of status (which includes the I-130, I-485, G-325 bio forms, plus the financial information, unless I am mistaken?).

My concern is that I have a conference overseas March 20 and would like to attend it without botching up the I-485.

1) If we mail the forms in next week, will I be issued an I-131 in time to attend the conference in March? Or am I better of beginning the immigration process when I get back?

2) If we wait until after I'm back, and begin the filing process at the end of March, what happens once my J-1 expires in June? Can I still remain in the country?

Edited by chicinchic

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline

~Moved from K 1 Process to WST-based AOS Forum~

~Inquiry about WST-based AOS, unrelated to K1~

~irrelevant thread removed, duplicate thread removed~

~Please refrain from multiple posting of same topic~

Edited by A&B

Completed: K1/K2 (271 days) - AOS/EAD/AP (134 days) - ROC (279 days)

"Si vis amari, ama" - Seneca

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline

~The duplicate and irrelevant postings have been removed. The thread that you posted about adjusting from a student visa in the Fiancee K1 visa forum has been moved to the WST-based AOS forum. You will likely get more informed responses at that forum.~

Edited by A&B

Completed: K1/K2 (271 days) - AOS/EAD/AP (134 days) - ROC (279 days)

"Si vis amari, ama" - Seneca

:guides: for adjustment of status for travel based visas, these are your friend!

http://www.visajourney.com/forums/topic/504257-general-faq-filing-for-adjustment-of-status/

Edited by Pheebs1201

Immigration Timeline

June 2013: Met whilst working at a summer camp in Michigan 

K1