Nicky.

Bank Statements for K1?

24 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

At what point do I need to show bank statements? I am a contractor and I am concerned that if I don't have much money in my bank, they would decline the application. Are they looking for something on the statements?

From reading online, I saw that sometimes a letter from your bank explaining previous year's deposit and current income would be good enough. Can anyone confirm what they did regarding bank statements?

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

From what I understand, you might never have to show bank statements, but any financial support evidence appears to be needed at the time of interview at the embassy, if ever. Many people interviewing never ever show bank statements, but paystubs and tax returns seems to be what they ask for if they ask. I suppose they could ask for bank statements to verify that what you put on the affidavit of support form is correct.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Brazil
Timeline

It varies from one consulate to the next, but generally speaking, self-employed petitioners (such as yourself, as a contractor) are asked for bank statements more often than employees. Look at the website for the consulate your fiancee will be interviewing at to make sure.

Timeline

What are they looking for on my bank statements? When I cash my check, I get the money in cash and I normally pay around $300 dollars into my bank account and keep the rest in cash for food, gas, just general shopping. Now I am worried that if I show them my bank statements, they will only see the $300 dollars I deposit into my bank each week and become suspicious. Is that likely?

Timeline

That's why you need to save the paystubs, then submit copies of those as evidence of your salary.

Thank you. As I am a contractor, I don't get pay stubs. I just get checks from the lady who gives me the work. Would that be okay as proof?

Timeline