afewgolfers

Fiance Visa or Spouse Visa?

11 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here and really could use some advice! I have been reading lots of other posts but still am very confused based on my situation.

I am Canadian and my fiancé is American. We have been on and off for over 10 years and finally decided we want to get married and I will be moving to the US. I am confused which visa to apply because we are not looking to rush this. We are both business owners, his business is in the US while mine is in Canada. I still have to figure out what I'm doing with my business and my houses here in Canada before I can move there, so ultimately I don't want to move there until next Sept 2015 (at the earliest). I also want to be able to work immediately (or as soon as possible) after I move to the US. I already have an American social # because I went to university in the states (that's how we met) but it doesn't allow me to work there. Can I still use this?

I thought the K1 would be best until I read you can't work until a long time after I move there?

Which visa should I apply for? I need one that will take about a year to approve because I can't move there any sooner, but it allows me to travel back and forth every month to visit him until the approval (which is what we are doing now) and will get me working the fastest after I move there? I also need it to allow me to travel back into Canada after its all approved in case we decide to keep my business and I have to come back for that.

HELP?! :)

The CR1/IR1 spouse visa sounds like your best bet, given your situation. This process takes about a year or a year and a few months, plus you can stretch it out more at the NVC stage. You would have to get married first of course, then you wait out the process in Canada.