brill

Ability to travel after filing DS-260

15 posts in this topic

I am studying in the US on an F1 visa and was selected in the DV-2015 lottery. If I opt to apply for a green card via consular processing and submit the DS-260 how will this affect my F1 standing? Would I be able to travel out of the US to attend a conference and return without problems? If I am unsuccessful in getting the green card will my F1 visa be cancelled?

Filed: Timeline

I am studying in the US on an F1 visa and was selected in the DV-2015 lottery. If I opt to apply for a green card via consular processing and submit the DS-260 how will this affect my F1 standing? Would I be able to travel out of the US to attend a conference and return without problems? If I am unsuccessful in getting the green card will my F1 visa be cancelled?

You may not be able to get back into the US on your F1 visa if you leave after submitting DS-260 which is you outrightly declaring your immigration intent. F1 visa is not a dual intent visa, requesting to be let back into the US on that visa is telling them at the POE that you have no immigrant intent.

Thanks again. Maybe I should consider trying via AOS. In that regard you had posted a link to a spreadsheet on another site that no longer appears to be available. Any chance you might be able to provide it? It looked to have really useful info about AOS.

Thanks again. Maybe I should consider trying via AOS. In that regard you had posted a link to a spreadsheet on another site that no longer appears to be available. Any chance you might be able to provide it? It looked to have really useful info about AOS.