GCJourney

30 days and no SSN? Need DHS verification?

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: China
Timeline

I applied for a Social Security card on April 4th with a EAD card and called to ask about the progress of my SSN application last week (since I'm a student it's hard for me to physically go to the SS office). A SS personnel returned my call and said that my application needs DHS verification and it will take 3 to 4 months... Because I put down my school mailing address and I am moving away in a month, I have a few questions:

1)How long will it take for DHS verification until I receive my SSN? I've heard it takes a few weeks at most, but never 3 to 4 months delay...

2)If I ask to change my address while my SSN application is pending, would that delay my number even more? What is the process to change my mailing address?

3)Because I am a student that lives quite far from SS office, should I still try to go to the office in person and ask? (the SS personnel said there is nothing to be done if I show up...)

Thanks so much in advance!

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Mexico
Timeline

When I file to get a SSN it took like a month because I also needed the DHS verification.... doesnt take three or four months but it does take a while.... I receive my card in the mail without any further action in the office. In my case it helped I went to the office because they made copies of what they needed and explain me the process

I love you Charles forever!!

! dveMm6.png

N-400 Waiting to be schedule for Oath Ceremony 

I was reading on the social security website and this is what it says