Little_My

N-400 - Time outside the US and information about residence

5 posts in this topic

Haven't been here in a while, but it's time to turn to the knowledgeable VJ community for some info and advice again!

It's time for us to start the N-400 journey! I am applying as a spouse of a US citizen, based on the 90-day rule applied to 3 years as a permanent resident. I have a couple of questions about the N-400 form:

1. Part 4 - Information about your residence

During my three years as a permanent resident, my husband and I temporarily lived in India due to his job for about 11 months in total. We kept an address in the US (at his parents house), maintained our bank accounts and filed taxes, and my absences were always less than 180 days at a time. Should I still list our address in India here - or just the address at his parent's house which was our mailing address in the US during that time, and which I also notified to USCIS via the address change form?

2. Part 8 - Time outside the US

This asks me to list my time outside the US during the past 5 years - but I have only been a resident for 3 years. It seems that some people still list their time outside the US for the whole five years, others cross over the "5 years" and write "3 years" and then list time outside the US for the applicable three - so which should I do? I personally am leaning towards just listing it for the past three years since I became a resident, as that is the time they care about and that way the total numbers of days outside will be correct - but what's the general consensus about this among VJ peeps?

Many thanks!

Adjustment of Status from F-1 to Legal Permanent Resident

02/11/2011 Married at Manhattan City Hall

03/03/2011 - Day 0 - AOS -package mailed to Chicago Lockbox

03/04/2011 - Day 1 - AOS -package signed for at USCIS

03/09/2011 - Day 6 - E-mail notification received for all petitions

03/10/2011 - Day 7 - Checks cashed

03/11/2011 - Day 8 - NOA 1 received for all 4 forms