jdude

Request for Additional Evidence - how to follow up

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi,

I recently received a request for additional evidence for my petition for my wife. They said we need to include a completed affidavit of support and then go on to mention that it has to include an income tax return for each person who has filed an affidavit.

Now we already included two affidavits of support with the application, but I did not include a tax return for myself because I have been a "dependent" up until this year and I do not have a tax return from the previous years. As you have probably guessed, we have a family member filing an affidavit as well because I alone do not qualify to support her, since I am a graduate student.

Anyways, we were wondering how to follow up on this. I wrote a letter explaining why I do not have any previous tax returns and I let them know that I will have my 2006 tax return soon and can supply that when it is available if necessary. What I am wondering is: do I need to send the entire affidavit of support form to USCIS, or only the info on the tax return since we are pretty sure this is what they were missing. Since they don't specify too well what was missing from our application, we are unsure how to proceed now. Any other tips on how to follow up a request for additional evidence would be appreciated too.

thanks in advance!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ghana
Timeline
Hi,

I recently received a request for additional evidence for my petition for my wife. They said we need to include a completed affidavit of support and then go on to mention that it has to include an income tax return for each person who has filed an affidavit.