oxfordkentuckian

Question about Adjustment of Status/DCF

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

My fiancee and I are about to submit the K1, but our situation is a bit unique. I'm an American citizen, but I'm doing my PhD in the UK at the moment, which has made things a bit odd in applying. In any case, we plan on getting married in the US, but then leaving within a few days to attend a reception for her family and friends in Singapore and then back to the UK for the last year of my PhD. So my question is this: do we just not apply for adjustment of status after we get married and head out? Are you allowed to not apply for AOS? Or is direct consular filing a better option if we'll be living in the UK for a year or so after the wedding? I appreciate any help.

Filed: Timeline

Can't your fiancee travel to the US (using tourist visa), and then you two can get married. After that, leave the US for the reception and continue your PhD program. When you two are ready to settle in the US, file the paperwork for the spousal visa/DCF. It's a lot quicker and financially makes more sense, unless I am missing something.

Edited by Umka36

The K-1 visa is specifically designed for couples who want to get married in the US and then stay in the US. If you don't adjust status, and then leave, you will have to begin from scratch with DCF (if available) or take the I-130/CR-1 visa route.

If you plan to get married in the US, and then leave, the only appropriate visa for her is a B-2 tourist visa, or, if she qualifies she can travel visa-free under the visa waiver program (if she's a UK or Singaporean citizen with no criminal or negative immigration history, she won't need a visa). If she is not a citizen of the UK or Singapore, you can check this list for all VWP countries: https://help.cbp.gov/app/answers/detail/a_id/1550/session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xMzg0ODE3MTIxL3NpZC9GcG9WeUhGbA%3D%3D