jigabodo

Possible expired passport and overstay prior to AOS interview

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello all,

I am currently an international student on F-1 visa in the States. My mother is a US citizen and filed a PR petition for me as "Unmarried sons and daughters of USC over 21". My PR priority date is around Aug 2009, meaning that the PR visa should be ready around sometime in 2016.

My status in the State is currently legal. I am to expected graduation on 2015 and my current passport expire on 2015 as well. However, due to conscription issues I WILL NOT be able to able to renew my passport once it expires, putting me in a huge limbo when my AOS interview comes up. This also means that I will not be able to maintain legal status in the States and will be overstaying.

My question is, will my overstay status and expired passport pose a significant issue during my AOS interview? I have my passport, it's just that they will no longer be "valid passports" when my interview time comes around. I also currently have State issued driving license (expires in 2018) if that helps any.

Thanks for all your help, I sincerely appreciate it!

Overstay makes you ineligible for a GC. If you overstay, your AOS will be denied and you will be deported. Go home in 2015 and come back with the appropriate family visa.

AOS for my husband
8/17/10: INTERVIEW DAY (day 123) APPROVED!!

ROC:
5/23/12: Sent out package
2/06/13: APPROVED!

Filed: Country: Poland
Timeline

Harpa Timsah is right. In your case, overstay would not be forgiven. You will have needed to maintain a legal status until it's time to file for AOS. Should this be impossible, you need to go back home and apply for a visa at a US consular post.

Overstay makes you ineligible for a GC. If you overstay, your AOS will be denied and you will be deported. Go home in 2015 and come back with the appropriate family visa.