IslandGuy

Future spouse will be moving out of her current country. Where do I file?

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello, I'm new to the forum but have been reading the different threads.

I will be marrying my Filipina finance in Bahrain this February. She is currently working in Bahrain, but she will be leaving in July to go back home to the Filippines.

I'll be using a financial co-sponser ( my Dad) as I am currently a full time student taking classes on line. I do own a home and do have money in the bank. My Dad and I may be moving to the Philippines in July for 6-7 months while we wait for her visa to come through. I was thinking about renting the house out while I am away.

Should I file in the US for her IR-1/CR-1, or should I file when I am in the Philippines? Will there be a problem with filing in March before she moves back to the Philippines? What am I missing?

I have been reading about US petitioners filing abroad having their petition wait time significantly reduced, but the last posting was in December and it is believed that the expedited service is no longer available. visajourney.com/forums/topic/357465-usc-petitioner-living-abroad/page__st__330

According to the guide, the joint sponsor must be residing in the US. I assume I would have to wait for the packet of forms received after NOA2 and to fill those out before my Co-sponser and I could go to the Philippines as the Co-sponser has to reside in the US to qualify. Is this correct?

Edited by IslandGuy

According to the guide, the joint sponsor must be residing in the US. I assume I would have to wait for the packet of forms received after NOA2 and to fill those out before my Co-sponser and I could go to the Philippines as the Co-sponser has to reside in the US to qualify. Is this correct?

From what I am reading about the definition of domiciled, my co-sponsor can be outside of the US if he shows strong ties to his house and a reason to return.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Qatar