ninamyers

tax questions... exciting...

8 posts in this topic

So, I graduated this summer, and have worked for a few months since, which will be my only income this UK tax year, which will total to less than the limit above which you pay tax. So in any normal situation, I would get all the tax I have paid so far back in March. But! I will be earning money when I get to the states - does this have to be taken into account when dealing with the nasty tax people here or can I still get my tax back?

Also... When I'm filing my tax returns next year in the states, do I have to declare the money I earned here?

I'm worried that at some point I'm going to be paying taxes for the same money in two countries! Aaahhh!!

I've also been hearing about some new thing where even JFK isn't giving out the temp EAD, has anyone actually verified this or should I still go ahead with my original plan of flying there and then onto LAX?

Thanks for all your helP!

Maria x

AOS/EAD

11/15/2006 NOA1 for EAD and AOS

12/1/2006 Received RFE Grrrrrrrrr

12/2/2006 Biometrics

12/8/2006 Sent back RFE

1/26/2007 EAD Card Production Ordered

1/31/2007 EAD Card received

3/6/2007 INTERVIEW - FBI namecheck

3/26/2007 NOA1 for AP

4/30/2007 AOS APPROVED

5/7/2007 Green Card Arrived!

-

2/12/09 Mailed Removal of Conditions

3/10/09 Bio Appt

-

Filed: Timeline

When you have a date for leaving the UK you need to file form P85 to notify Inland revenue that you are leaving the country for good and will not be liable for UK tax...

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/cnr/p85_p85s.htm

Any rebate of paid tax will be send to you in the US, takes about 6 weeks...

Sorry cant help with your question about JKF..

Kezzie

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline