ramoadi

H1B while still in school

8 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Romania
Timeline

Hi all,

I am an F1 student, going for a MS degree in Computer Science, scheduled to graduate next year (2013).

I am working part-time in campus for 6 months as a software developer.

My previous education is in Law: I have a Bachelors degree in Law and a Masters Degree in Law, both from Romania.

My previous work experience: 3 years as a legal adviser.

Recently I have interviewed and got a full time position as a software developer. The job requirements were "Bachelors of Science/Masters of Science in Computer Science or a related field of study or equivalent work experience."

Will I be able to successfully apply for an H1B under this circumstances? Your help would be highly appreciated.

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Hi all,

I am an F1 student, going for a MS degree in Computer Science, scheduled to graduate next year (2013).

I am working part-time in campus for 6 months as a software developer.

My previous education is in Law: I have a Bachelors degree in Law and a Masters Degree in Law, both from Romania.

My previous work experience: 3 years as a legal adviser.

Recently I have interviewed and got a full time position as a software developer. The job requirements were "Bachelors of Science/Masters of Science in Computer Science or a related field of study or equivalent work experience."

Will I be able to successfully apply for an H1B under this circumstances? Your help would be highly appreciated.

Since you have a Bachelors, your employer can file for the H1-b visa on your behalf. You cannot file for the H1-b on your own. Your employer must file for it. The employer usually will retain an attorney to file the H1-b petition on your behalf.