Cyn&Alex

Affidavit of Support

7 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to this process and find this website and forum to be extremely helpful and encouraging. It is nice to know WE are not the only one's having our lives being dictated by the government (of course I mean that with utmost respect) ;) We, by ourselves, filed on March 21st 2012 @ the Texas lockbox location for the K-1 Fiance visa petition and recieved email/text message notifs last evening March 27th around 1am ( odd time) my time that we would be redirected to the Vermont Processing Center, (NOA-1 to be sent in 7-10 days). I am now compiling papers and preparing what I shall send my love in Greece for his part. I am wanting to know what I should send and of course, what is required, (BUT never seems to be listed in the lovely instructions for these forms)for the Affidavit of Support form and along with the full Petition packet that was sent in? The USCIS website is helpful to a certain extent. And let me tell you calling them is not the greatest. Dear God, they seem to have a different person for every question. Please, of those who have done this before, HELP ME!!!! Any advice and lists would be greatly appreciated? :)

Thanks so much,

C and A.

Be sure to read the K-1 Guide: http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.php?autocom=custom&page=k1guide

...and the Flowchart: http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.php?autocom=custom&page=k1flow

Also, be sure to update your timeline to reflect that your petition was sent to the Vermont Service Center (VSC). This will help you get an estimate on when the petition will be adjudicated.

Good luck! :)

Part One: The K-1 Visa Journey:

USCIS Receipt of I-129F: January 24, 2012 | Petition Approval: June 15, 2012 (No RFEs)
Interview: October 24, 2012 - Review | Visa Delivered: October 31, 2012

Part Two: Entry and Adjusting Status:

POE: November 18, 2012 (at SFO) - Review