dukeandduchess

Travel Insurance? (POE->SSN)

12 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

So I'm having some trouble finding medical insurance to cover me during that awkward phase when I am no longer a BC resident, and don't have American Health insurance..

Where did you guys get your coverage? Every time I try to get travel insurance it asks if I am a Canadian Resident covered by MSP. In my mind, my residency expires when I leave Canada. I also called and cancelled my MSP (ending Feb.29). I'm considering telling them I won't be leaving until March 31 (to give me time to get health insurance in the states), but I feel like I'm playing a dangerous game assuming they will cover me when technically I am no longer a resident.

What the heck do I do? I'm leaving on Sunday or Monday.

Thank you!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi, you can purchase immigrant health insurance from a number of places online. I have purchased Patriot America health insurance for the two months between arriving at POE and being able to join my fiance's health insurance after we marry. You can get a quote and do a comparison using this website: http://www.nriol.net...lth-insurance/.

Most travel insurance policies do not cover immigrants, as they for travellers returning to their original country of residence. Make sure you read the small print before you buy any policies, especially travel insurance, you could be wasting your money and may not be able to make a claim.

Edited by jayne d

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

if you search travel insurance in the top right, you will find a lot of info. Safe travels

Canadians Visiting the USA while undergoing the visa process, my free advice:

1) Always tell the TRUTH. never lie to the POE officer

2) Be confident in ur replies

3) keep ur response short and to the point, don't tell ur life story!!