sailormoon01

Hubby getting a job in USA

19 members have voted

1. 1. How soon did your significant other find a job after arrival in the USA?

• Within a few weeks, less than a month
    • Within 3 months
    • Within 6 months
    • Over 6 months

12 posts in this topic

Timeline

After your significant other got their green card, how difficult was it to find a job? I live in Chicago and I am a student currently. Working is not really an option for me at the moment. I am hoping my husband can find a job soon because money can not last forever. I am lucky his family will continue to help him from abroad, but he can not always ask them for help. Also, I have my family here and they help us, but they are not always welcoming and understanding of my husband. For those of us who have our husbands home, how do we cope with this? The job market is hard enough in the USA even if somebody was professionally employed back in their country, it is not so easy when they arrive here. My husband has a business degree, his English is alright, but not perfect. Also, he is a bit shy and he gets nervous to speak English in front of strangers. Either way, I notice there are jobs looking for Arabic speaking people, but they many times they also require different types of degrees than what he has or types of specializations. Anybody who was in a similar situation or who currently is in this situation, please share. If your husband or wife is currently working, what are they doing now and was it easy for them to find work. Thanks all and hope everybody has a HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!!! <3

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Egypt
Timeline