AmericanRi

Father's permission for child to emigrate

39 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Ukraine
Timeline

I am just beginning the process of applying for a K1 visa to bring my Ukrainian fiancee to the U.S. to marry. My fiancee has a child from a previous marriage, and of course I want to bring him to the U.S. also, on a K2 visa. However, my fiance fears that the biological father will refuse to give permission for the children to emigrate. The son lives with his mother, away from the father for 6 years now, the father has had NO contact at all with his son for over a year (the son is 8), he pays his child support (such a low amount, it's amazing!) sporadically, and is remarried with another child from his current wife. My fiancee reports that the legal system protects fathers, even if they have no contact with the child, and that she will not be able to get the court to grant her full custody. So my question is; are there other options available to me? Does anyone know how difficult it is in Ukraine for a mother to get full legal custody from the courts? And what exactly does the consular officer need to see at the interview in order to grant a K2 for a child? I would be soooo grateful for any advice or information!

We had the same thing but in the UK. We got a note from the biological father stating that he agrees to let the children emigrate to the US. if we did not have that note a court would have to get involved. In our case he had not paid support and we held that over him for leverage. He was happy to be absolved from the debt. If he will not voluntarily sign a form allowing the kids to leave the country a visa for them will be tough indeed.

K-1 Journey

03-03-2011 - Mailed I-129F application.

03-06-2011 - Packet received in Texas.

03-23-2011 - NOA1 received in mail, dated 03-09-2011.

05-31-2011 - RFE requested. They want better passport pictures of me.

06-06-2011 - Additional passport pics sent.