Vedic

OPT and work visa queries..

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: India
Timeline

Hello,

I have a very simple case as compare to the others seem to be in this forum. But I am still very confused and kind of scared.

So, I graduated from my university in July 2011 and have applied for my OPT exactly one day after I graduates which was 19th July. Now, its been more than 2 months and my opt status online is still showing "Initial Review". But I am not in hurry or anything, because I could start my work from November onwards and I hope to get my opt before then. But I am hired from a tutoring company called Wyzant. Now, they ask for my SSN so that they could run a back ground check on me and when I get paid for tutoring kids they could transfer money directly to my account. But when I talked with them about this concern, they said they will not care if I am international or not, as long as I have an SSN I will be fine. But when I called my university immigration office, they said I could not work for any company if they are going to pay me, until I receive my OPT and have it signed.

So, first of all I do not know how long will I have to wait until I receive my OPT and secondly if I get it soon and start working at my company, then will I still be allowed to work at this tutoring website without having to worry about my immigration status??

I know this is quite confusing but please kindly help me out in this matter...Also, If I was unclear about something then pardon me, I could ask it better way.

I look forward to hearing from someone..

Thanks a lot!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hello,

I have a very simple case as compare to the others seem to be in this forum. But I am still very confused and kind of scared.