Sooz

Already deported with wife living in South Africa

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: South Africa
Timeline

Hello,

I'm frustrated but still plowing through.

Here's my story I hope someone has an answer...

I met my husband in 1986 (I am a US born citizen) we have been together ever since. We married in 2008 in the sierras after 22 years. We have two son's both citizens of the US whom are now adults in their 20's. Back in 1988 my husband was given a "voluntary departure", he never left because of me.

So moving to October 2009, after living and making a life in the US for the past 23 years all of a sudden the INS shows up and puts my husband on ICE.

He was deported to South Africa a month later. We have packed up our whole life and are now living abroad in a country I don't want to live in. I've been here since January 2010.

I'm not a lawyer, we couldn't afford one and the one's we did speak to said he had no chance because of 214(a) inadmissibility and they never offered any advice on which forms to file, so we only filed the I-130 so far and that was over a year a half ago.

I recently found out that we need to file the I-601 along with the I-212 and it asks questions like "if were to move to your "home country" etc. all the questions are like that. WE ALREADY DID MOVE AND IT COSTS US OUR LIFE SAVINGS!!! Geezz...anyways, I feel bad for not knowing what to do, but like I said I'm no lawyer, thank god for these forums.

**I just want to add my husband has lead a clean life with NO criminal records anywhere. The only crime was not leaving the USA.

So my question is...

I'm getting all the required papers, photos, evidence, etc. together right now and SO do I have to file the I-212 and the I-601 in the same package (they want everything file in duplicates). I send all copies and no originals correct??

AND if I go to the South African Consul here should I file it with them or send it to USCIS California Service myself?