Berni claude

What should we do as an international student who got married?

7 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: France
Timeline

Hello everyone,

My wife (who is a US citizen and French) and I (French) got married 3 weeks ago, we have lived together for 8 months now. I wouldn't hide that I am very scared of what I should do and not do. I have been an international student from Paris and traveled back and forth from Paris (my home) to Seattle since 2007.

We're getting graduated soon, in a few days, and we want to move in New York together, and most importantly I would deeply like to support my wife financially through her studies and our projects, I do not want her to work alone for our us, and we love travelling around.

Most of the documents are quiet complicated to fill. What should I do after my graduation day? Can my wife sponsor me with our common account? Should I be a K1 visa? Where could I find the I-94 departure record?

We are students and live together, what can we do to proof that we are good financially to support ourselves? My student visa expire at the end of July 2012.

If there is anyone who can advice me, or light me, I would be very, surely graceful, thanks in advance.

Ramy Kader

sonly19_@hotmail.com

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Dont' wait until your visa expires, follow the link below to work on adjusting your status

http://www.visajourney.com/content/i130guide2

Your I-94 is stapled into your passport, look for it there.

If you cannot meet the financial requirments, a co-sponsor must be obtained.

PS - your student visa expires in July 2012, however it requires you to be a full time student, if you are not then obviously your student visa isn't authorizing you to stay. File NOW, before you graduate, to avoid any problems or complications

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned