M J Woods

I-864 joint sponsor concerns

9 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

My husband's visa interview for CR-1 was May 18 in Ankara. It went well, but they said they wanted a different joint sponsor. (I'm a graduate student so my income is minimal, but my dad's income is over $19k, whereas as far as I can tell 125% of poverty for two people--my dad and my husband--is $18,300something. Still, he was rejected.) My mom (they're divorced) is very opposed to sponsoring my husband, and I think it's because she reads the "you must support the immigrant at 125% of poverty" thing as "you must send this guy checks every month." I've been trying to convince her that this is NOT the case, and that the ONLY way a problem would arise is if my husband were to go on welfare/food stamps/other "means-tested benefits," in which case the agency in question could sue her to get that money back (but in my understanding, they would first try to get it back from me, since I'm the primary sponsor--and since I'm on fellowships and/or student loans for the next several years, in all likelihood I would be able to pay up before anything ever happened to her).

So my question is, has anyone here dealt with a potential joint sponsor who misunderstood the joint sponsor responsibilities/obligations in this way, and how have you been able to convince them that they're not going to be sending your spouse/relative checks every month? It would be AMAZINGLY, INCREDIBLY helpful if someone could ask their joint sponsor to contact my mom via email; this is I think the only thing that might be able to convince her to help me and my husband be together after 13 months of visa processing nightmare. :(

If you think your joint sponsor would be willing to write an email to my mom explaining the concerns they had and the reality of the situation now that they're a joint sponsor and no one has demanded they pay up, please contact me?

Married: March 16, 2010
Sent I-130: March 31, 2010
NOA1: April 21, 2010