mrskage

Spousal Visa Info

11 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi I am new to all of this. I am from the US and my fiance is from the UK. We plan on getting married in the US his next trip. I just need to know what steps we need to take after we get married. Which Visa is the fastest and all of that. Also once all of the visa things are approved and he gets to come over to the US to live, how long before he can start working? Any information or opinions are helpful. Thankyou. :thumbs:

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Albania
Timeline

you will need to do the I 130 visa for spouse here is a link for step by step instruction..

http://www.visajourney.com/content/i130guide1

event.png

preg.png

ENGAGED AUGUST 18, 2010

MARRIED OCT 21, 2010

FILED I-130 NOV 13,2010

NOA 1 NOV 15, 2010

NOA 2 JUNE 15, 2011

CASE # JULY 13,2011

DS3032 ACCEPTED JULY 18, 2011

AOS paid JULY 20, 2011

Sent AOS JULY 23, 2011

IV paid JULY 25, 2011

IV sent JULY 28, 2011

CASE CLOSED AUG 8, 2011

INTERVIEW DATE OCT 13, 2011

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: England
Timeline

He can work as soon as he arrives in the the states as a LPR (legal permanent resident) he can also work with a K3 fiance visa, but you must marry within 90 days of him arriving. If he is going to come over to get married I think he has to apply for a fiance visa first. You can't use a visitors visa for marriage purposes. Its the same for you if you wanted to marry in his country...you would have to apply for a marriage/fiance visa. This is what I did when we got married in england. After the wedding you would apply for IR1/CR1 visa (I-130 petition for alien relative) it takes about 9 mos-1yr to complete the entire process although some do it in less time & some take longer if there are complications like overstaying a visa or criminal record.

Married Sept.3,2010

02/11/2011: I130 Sent

02/21/2011: NOA1

06/22/2011: NOA2

06/30/2011: NVC

07/05/2011: DS-3032 email received

07/05/2011: DS-3032 emailed