lostinchina

Chinese girlfriend applying for F-1 visa with American student

14 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I'm currently 20 years old and still have 3 semesters of college left. My girlfriend is about 4 years older than me. I've been studying abroad in China since August and met my girlfriend in the middle of September 2010. I'm studying in a different city in China this semester so me and my girlfriend have been traveling to visit each other (twice so far). I'm not engaged but I do really like her and her major in college was English so we have no communication issues. The problem is, since I'm a student I don't have a job so I think that would be a problem for the F-1 visa application. Also, I would need to apply within 2 years of meeting her but that would mean I will still be in college with no job by the time I apply. Can anyone suggest what steps I should take? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

You are confusing F-1 with K-1

For an F-1 student visa, YOU, the US citizen, does not need to be employed. Nor do you have to have apply within 2 years of meeting her

The F-1 is a non-immigrant visa. Your girlfriend would have to apply to a US school, be accepted, and then begin the F-1 process. SHE would have to show how she can finally support herself while in the US (which can require her to show $20,000 in available funds per year - at least that is what it was when I applied in 2005). Plus she would have to show strong and compelling ties to China to show that she MUST return after the F-1 terms have been met

Now, are you looking into an F-1 student visa or a K-1 fiance visa, they are 2 very different visas

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009