ThailandMatthew

I-864: Statement and/or Evidence re: Not Req. to File US Taxes

37 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Thailand
Timeline

Hello all. My name is Matthew and I am in the process of completing an I-864 petition form for my wife (Thai) Apple.

I am an English teacher here in Thailand, and have been for nearly 6 years. This means I make under US poverty level salary.

Even adding my wife's salary (a Thai-style pittance) we're under the $18,700 that I see in IRS documents is under the level

of 'must file'. The same document says everyone SHOULD file, but it clearly states that we don't HAVE TO.

The instructions for the I-864 state that the petitioner must include tax returns OR a statement and/or evidence describing

why you were not required to file. This is what I plan to do.

I have a co-sponsor, my father, who makes nearly half a million dollars a year and is submitting his own I-864 in support.

I'm simply looking for experiences/advice about my situation. Has anyone written this letter of explanation? What else did you

include as 'evidence'? Pay slips, letters from employers, IRS docs that highlight this exemption?

I really hope this works out.

Thanks in advance for any tips anyone might have. Especially pertaining to the letter.

Also: does the letter of explanation need to be notarized?

Cheers!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: China
Timeline

Be aware, the interviewing officer can easily demand that you file a late return and attach this to the I-864.

It is just as easy to simply file past years returns late, there is no penalty.

You may be exempt from paying tax on foreign income but are not exempt from filing IRS returns each year.

Another much bigger issue facing you is proof of US domicile, this is a requirement of the I-864.

The Domicile issue is a common one for DCF filers, and needs to be addressed prior to the visa interview.

Domicile