andreean1987

working of OPT vs H1B visa

33 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Romania
Timeline

hello

I am a recent college graduate who has the option of working on either OPT or H1B visa. My advisor told me to go for OPT because it is a better option than H1B. I do not understand why....isn't it that with H1b you are eligible for green card? Is ot easy to get the green card through H1 or your company has to be willing to petition your green card application which is different than the initial h1b application. I have right now a bachelor degree. is it better to get a masters and apply for h1b because I would be eligible for eb2 application?

Thank you

Sincerely

Andreea

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Right now with your F-1 status, you can get your OPT easily, with just the help of the DSO at your school - it is unrestricted in terms of what company you can work for, as long as it is related to your major

An H1B needs a company to offer you a position and then formally submit the application on your behalf - you may not remain in the US under your F-1 status while the H1B is being processed. This visa requires a company to sponsor you so if you do not have this already, you may have to leave the US before you get a US company to sponsor you or the application is complete

If you want to remain in the US for a short term, apply for your OPT. Then you may work on getting the h1b. Your advisor was correct. The transition to OPT is easier for you, the H1B is not

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009

POE - June 20, 2009 Toronto - Atlanta, GA

Removal of Conditions
Filed - April 14, 2011
Biometrics - June 2, 2011 (early)