bairesgirl

F1 visa about to expire and want to get married....

10 posts in this topic

Hello everyone!!

I entered the US on an F1 student visa, i completed my course succesfully and for what i understand i have a 60 or 90 grace period to stay in the US once i graduated.

My american bf and I want to get married so then I can be able to apply for an AOS ( if possible), now my question is.... does it make any difference to get married before the grace period is over or after? if i overstay and we get married pretty soon after that and then apply for an AOS, what are the chances i ll get rejected when the time of the interview with inmigration comes??

Thank you so much and I hope somebody can help me on this, thanks a lot!!

bairesgirl :help:

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Jamaica
Timeline

Just seem that now since your F-1 status is expired and in a jam you turned to marriage.

Current cut off date F2A - Current 

Brother's Journey (F2A) - PD Dec 30, 2010

Dec 30 2010 - Notice of Action 1 (NOA1)
May 12 2011 - Notice of Action 2 (NOA2)
May 23 2011 - NVC case # Assigned
Nov 17 2011 - COA / I-864 received
Nov 18 2011 - Sent COA
Apr 30 2012 - Pay AOS fee

Oct 15 2012 - Pay IV fee
Oct 25 2012 - Sent AOS/IV Package

Oct 29 2012 - Pkg Delivered
Dec 24 2012 - Case Complete

May 17 2013 - Interview-Approved

July 19 2013 - Enter the USA

"... Answer when you are called..."

So that means i wouldn t be able to apply for an AOS?????? will this bring me issues with inmigration when i have the interview??, we have an inmigration lawyer that s willing to represent me... you think that can help??

Just seem that now since your F-1 status is expired and in a jam you turned to marriage.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Albania
Timeline

Hello everyone!!

I entered the US on an F1 student visa, i completed my course succesfully and for what i understand i have a 60 or 90 grace period to stay in the US once i graduated.