Peedo

How to make a really old foreign BSEE diploma valid here

16 posts in this topic

Hello everyone here and first off, what a wonderful site you guys have here. Too bad I didn't discover it before when I was busy doing my AOS paperwork. But better late than never so I'd run my situation by you guys here. Maybe someone has had a similar situation.

I have a roughly Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and would like to eventually find work in this field here in the states. I have already tried to obtain employment a few times but have been told by prospective employers that even though my degree is technically valid, it's generally insufficient for finding work here in this field. They said that my diploma is simply old. True, back in the day when I got it, 21 years ago to be exact, programs were different; the whole social system was different (I graduated 1989 in Estonia, back then it was part of the old USSR and had SRR in its name). I think the whole math and physics courses have hardly changed but nowadays there are microprocessors and digital communications and so on, so I agree with what I was told that my diploma level is insufficient in reality.

Now the real question is what to do about it. I went to talk to people here in New York City at City College's School of Engineering. I asked them, after I have my degree course-by-course evaluated by WES and find out how many credits I have in reality, if can I take additional courses in areas that I'm lacking to bring my academics up to level needed for BSEE.

I was told however that one cannot take courses in the same major over again, it would have to be something else, IT or liberal arts or even accounting. This sounded quite a bit strange to me because what is the point in trying to work as an electrical engineer when one in fact has studied accounting.