Turbota

Leaving the US after arriving on an IR-1 visa

5 posts in this topic

I want to start by saying that I am a US citizen living in the Philippines with my Filipina wife who has never been to the US before. We have been married for a little more than 2 years and I am here on a permanent residence visa (13a). Because we both live here and I am a permanent resident of the Philippines, I can use the Direct Consular Filing (DCF) through the US Embassy in Manila for my wifes IR-1 Immigration Visa to the US.

To be honest, I spent a boat-load of money on a new house here in an up-scale (for the Philippines) gated community. I really don't want to live forever back in the US. In fact, before I moved to the PI, I sold my house in the US.

Well, since we are married I believe it is only right to allow my wife the opportunity for US citizenship. I really don't want her stuck in the Philippines if I were to die way before her. I hope you can understand that. I know it will take her 3 years to get citizenship once we go to the US ... but it is my plan to move back to the Philippines after the 3 year period.

Here is a copy and paste I got somewhere of the rules as far as leaving the US after being admitted in on an immigrant visa.

"Traveling Outside of the United States:

The law requires that applicants for naturalization (US citizen) must have resided continuously in the United States for 3 years.

Applicants are also generally required to have been physically present in the United States for at least half of that 3 year period of time.

Applicants should not remain out of the country for more than 6 months at a time".

I read words like "Generally Required" and "Should Not".

When I was in the military, we only used words like "Are Required" and "Will Not". I guess words like that are just too "final and non-negotiable" for the folks in Immigration.