princessandskul

Grandmother

12 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Kenya
Timeline
I'm a permenent resident, my husband is a citizen. Please, if you know, tell us how to bring my grandma to US. Thank you.

Visitor's visa, she does that.

Permanently:

You as LPR, can take 5 years.

USC, can take a year.

Check the guide here:

Bringing Parents overview

Procedures

Phil (Lockport, near Chicago) and Alla (Lobnya, near Moscow)

As of Dec 7, 2009, now Zero miles apart (literally)!

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
I'm a permenent resident, my husband is a citizen. Please, if you know, tell us how to bring my grandma to US. Thank you.

Neither you nor your USC husband can petition for your grandmother to come to the USA permanently....

Visitor's visa, she does that.

Permanently:

You as LPR, can take 5 years.

USC, can take a year.

Check the guide here:

Bringing Parents overview

Procedures

however, grandparents do NOT qualify as an immediate relative

FWIW, A USC cannot ever petition for any "in-laws" of any flavor.... (ie.. MIL, FIL, BIL, SIL, GMIL, etc...)

Edited by payxibka

YMMV

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
Thank you! What if bring the grandma as a visitor by visitors visa, and later, as she won't be able to come back( she is very old, the flight is very hard for her), apply for sponsorship for her and for permanent visa?

tourist visa might be possible

you cannot ever sponsor her for permanent residency... it is not within the law

YMMV

Filed: Other Country: Canada
Timeline
I recommend a 747.

PEOPLE: READ THE APPLICATION FORM INSTRUCTIONS!!!! They have a lot of good information in them! Most of the questions I see on VJ are clearly addressed by the form instructions. Give them a read!! If you are unable to understand the form instructions, I highly recommend hiring someone who does to help you with the process. Our process, from K-1 to Citizenship and U.S. Passport is completed. Good luck with your process.