totoro

What is "background investigation" ?

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I filed on Jun,2008 to VSC and was transfered on 2/11 to CSC. I have been waiting almost a year so I contacted to the Senator on Apr.10 and got a letter today.

Here is the letter from the senator's office.

"I am writing in response to your letter requesting Senator ********'s assistance in determining the status of your Form I-751 application to remove conditional permanent resident alien status. I contacted the USCIS CSC and was advised that the processing of the applicatiion has been delayed as the required background investigation remains open. Until the background investigation is completed, the USCIS CSC cannot issue a final decision. These background checks are required to be completed on applicant who apply for an immigration benefit. Thank you for contacting Senator *******'s office."

Why was the background check delayed? My background is clean; I have not received even a speeding ticket. My opinion is that they found my file among the dust after the senator contacted them and are making an excuse. But I might be wrong :)....... but do you have any idea as to how long the background check might take? Do you think they will require a REF or an interview?

I filed on Jun,2008 to VSC and was transfered on 2/11 to CSC. I have been waiting almost a year so I contacted to the Senator on Apr.10 and got a letter today.