tuesdaysgone

K1 Visa Help Really Needed

15 posts in this topic

I am a British citizen currently living in the United States with my American fiancee. I am here on a F1 Student Visa and we will be applying for a K1 fiancee visa.

I am worried about when to petition the i129f. Do I need to go back to the UK while my partner sends the i129f and the visa application is processed or can I stay in the US?

I am here studying and I can fly over to the US embassy in London whenever needed.

There is a question on the I 129F which asks if your fiance or spouse is currently in the country, and if so, the departure date on their customs form in the passport, my i94 does not expire until 2012. so i am not overstaying and I am actively studying.

2.How long on average does the process take, I have a stockpile of evidence proving a relationship, we both do not have criminal records and I am a police officer on a career break.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Australia
Timeline

processing times are here: http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.ph...&page=times

so far as i know you'll be allowed to stay on your current visa then adust status when the K1 comes through but will have to go to london for your interview. not sure if K1 is the best option for you?

Thank you first of all.

From what I have looked at the K1 is the best visa to go for as the K2 is for spouse only and I know for definate I will get deported if I was to marry under a student visa, so that is a definate no no.

Flying to London for the medical exam, interview etc is perfectly ok, I really do not mind that. I just don't want my partner to file the i129f while im stateside and end up getting deported and blacklisted, hence I need to be sure its ok.