decker

Fiance is pregnant!

10 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Vietnam
Timeline

Hello from Alaska USA! I am a newbie to this forum. I have a question I hope you folks can help me with. I met Linh in October and we corresponded regularly. I have gone to HCM to meet her twice now (FEB 2008 AND MAY 2008) and we are going to apply for the K1 visa. I called her last night and she says she is now pregnant. Question is should we wait to apply for a K1 until after our child is born or can we forge ahead as is? If we can apply now, how do I list our child on the I-129?

I have a long road ahead as you all well know. I will be picking your brains a lot. Thank you for your help and good luck to you all.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline
Hello from Alaska USA! I am a newbie to this forum. I have a question I hope you folks can help me with. I met Linh in October and we corresponded regularly. I have gone to HCM to meet her twice now (FEB 2008 AND MAY 2008) and we are going to apply for the K1 visa. I called her last night and she says she is now pregnant. Question is should we wait to apply for a K1 until after our child is born or can we forge ahead as is? If we can apply now, how do I list our child on the I-129?

I have a long road ahead as you all well know. I will be picking your brains a lot. Thank you for your help and good luck to you all.

Apply now for the K-1. You can apply for a Consular Birth Abroad, US Social Security number, and US passport (for your child) if your child is born overseas. You can add your child when he/she is born later in the process, and if you take care of all of your child's dual citizen paperwork, the child will not need a visa. If you're in Anchorage, you can go down to the Immigration Office at 10th and Gambell and they can help you fill the paperwork out. You probably won't need a lawyer with the vast resources on this site, but if you decide to get one, I can tell you who not to get in Anchorage!