Krissy!

Affidavit of Support

10 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Jordan
Timeline

Ok, so I'm in a little bit of a dilemma regarding the requirements of affidavit of support:

I'm a part-time college instructor, bringing in what would contribute to be "above poverty level" (if I worked a full year). This is now a huge step down from my previous years of working a full time job in addition to 3 other part-time jobs (teaching, tutoring, etc). So this year I'm a little more worried about providing the affidavit of support due to the following:

My SO and I were discussing about the possibility of my coming out to stay with him this summer, as I literally will not have a job this summer (well, presently I was offered just 1 class to teach Monday through Thursday for 8 weeks, which also requires a daily commute of about 90 miles round trip). And we thought maybe I'll move out of my current place, and put my belongings in storage and I "move" to Jordan to spend out the rest of time there until he gets the K1 Visa....

my only concern, as I explained to him, is that I most likely will not meet the requirements of proving that I can provide support for him once we're back to the states, and that I may not have a job waiting for me..... yikes.

I mention that we may need to get a co-sponsor that meets this.. but problem is, I do not really have anyone to do that.... perhaps can ask a cousin I'm close to, but I'm very uncomfortable asking for such support. :blush: My parents are out of the question. (I was raised with the idea that "you're responsible for all of your own finances").

Anyone had a similar dilemma? How does it pan out? What's your opinions?

Of course, we would love to stay together and work through this, but it is stressful thinking I won't have a job upon my return, and possibility not have a co-sponsor to help us out...... (does it really make a big difference to have a "sponsor" in reality anyways?)

Thanks!