MonopolyMoney

Filing taxes

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Kurtis and I were married October 31st. Prior to that, he had lived in Canada and I lived in the US. I earned income in the US, and he earned his income in Canada. After we were married, we filed for EI (which we received--woo!). He has made no other income while living in the US.

Do we need to file Canadian taxes as well as US? Do I include his income on the US taxes (married filing jointly)? Does he include my income on his taxes? What tax forms do we use?

Sorry for so many questions.. this is my first time filing as married. Is there a website that spells this all out in easy terms? I tried filing online, but received error messages because Kurtis is from Canada.

:help:

I-129F sent- 1/4/2007

I-129F received by Vermont Service Center- 1/8/2007

I-129F NOA1- 1/9/2007

Check cashed- 1/11/2007

I-129F NOA2- 1/24/2007

NVC received I-129F- 1/31/2007

Kurtis received packet from Montreal Consulate- 2/9/2007

Kurtis sent packet back to Montreal- 5/21/2007

Kurtis received interview date- 8/20/2007

Medical in Toronto- 9/11/2007

Interview in Montreal- 10/10/2007- APPROVED!

Received visa in mail- 10/15/2007

Traveled home to Massachusetts- 10/19/2007

Married- 10/31/2007

Mailed AOS packet- 1/23/2008

NOA issued- 1/30/2008

USCIS cashed check- 2/1/2008

Received RFE- 2/19/2008

Biometrics appointment- 2/21/2008 (in Providence, RI)

EAD application touched- 2/22/2008

Request for Evidence received by USCIS- 2/26/2008

EAD touched- 4/28/2008

AOS transferred to California Service Center- 5/16/2008

AOS touched- 5/27/2008

Called USCIS to have them do a case trace on our stale EAD- 5/27/2008

AOS touched- 5/29/2008

EAD card production ordered- 6/2/2008

AP approved- 6/2/2008

EAD received- 6/9/2008 (WOOHOO!!!!)

AP received- 6/9/2008

AOS touched- 6/19/2008

Total time it took to process EAD and AP- 129 days (boooo!)

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline