applepie98

separation time: which one is the best option?

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Italy
Timeline

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting. I have known this site for a few days and tried to read as much as i could: guides, faq etc. I am an Italian citizen, me and my american fiancee decided to get married few weeks ago. Now, after 5 years of long distance relationship ( we started when we were 19 and couldnt get married earlier for a lot of reasons) , separation time has lost all of its romaticism and positives sides you could possibly find. I tried to compare the different kinds of visa and i m wondering which one would be the best option to avoid as much as possible the separation time. I figured we can visit each other while waiting for the visa to be approved but he recently got a job in Hawaii where ive been for the past three months and it's a very expensive journey for the both of us that cannot be made often. Im giving all of these details cause i dont want to give the idea that we are just impatient or not motivated enought to go through challenges. My QUESTION is: would a k3 visa work better for us than a k1 if our main purpose is for me to enter the US in a shorter time? The guide says the fiancee visa is "typically quicker than spousal visa" but it also says "The K-3 was designed to allow the foreign spouse to enter the US even if the I-130 has not been approved". Does that mean I could actually live in the State while im waiting for it?

I am seriously, seriously confused right now.....Thanks to anybody who will give me an answer..

It means that potentially you can use the CR-1 to enter the states as a spouse (as far as I am aware) but generally the K-1 option is quicker... although if you are with California Service Center I would seriously check the timelines - I am not sure if K3/CR1 visas are taking as long as K1s but it seems to be real slow right now.