The Bloomies

Foreign-earned income whilst living in the US?

6 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I wondered if someone could explain what constitutes foreign-earned income for a LPR for tax purposes. I’ve been filing joint taxes with my husband since 2018 and didn’t have any reason to question taxes on my income until now.

I live in the US and operate a sole proprietorship. I have one permanent client who is based in London. However, based on a few calls recently with my city and state, I’ve been made aware that income earned outside of the city or state does not get taxed so I don’t owe anything there. I was surprised by that and mentioned as much. I reiterated that I lived in my city and only the client was in London. They said they understood and that what they’d explained was correct.

Are federal taxes different then? I believe I have to report that income for federal taxes and I’m happy to report it, but I wanted to check. We’re not using a tax professional this year and sometimes it’s difficult to annotate nuances like this on TurboTax.

J

Edited by The Bloomies

23 minutes ago, The Bloomies said:

Hello all,

I wondered if someone could explain what constitutes foreign-earned income for a LPR for tax purposes. I’ve been filing joint taxes with my husband since 2018 and didn’t have any reason to question taxes on my income until now.

I live in the US and operate a sole proprietorship. I have one permanent client who is based in London. However, based on a few calls recently with my city and state, I’ve been made aware that income earned outside of the city or state does not get taxed so I don’t owe anything there. I was surprised by that and mentioned as much. I reiterated that I lived in my city and only the client was in London. They said they understood and that what they’d explained was correct.